Noosa Biosphere Reserve - A celebration of community and environment.

2021 Noosa Biosphere Awards Finalists Announced

2021 Noosa Biosphere Awards Finalists Announced

The Noosa Biosphere Reserve Foundation (NBRF) has announced the finalists for the inaugural Noosa Biosphere Awards 2021.

Photo: Plastic Free Noosa are a Finalist in the Water Category.

The Foundation launched the new Awards program in August this year as part of the 50th Anniversary of the UNESCO Man and the Biosphere Programme, as a way to recognise environmental and sustainability excellence in the Noosa Shire.

NBRF Chair, Rex Halverson said entries were of a high calibre.

“The feedback we received from the judges was the number of high-quality entries received clearly demonstrated why the Noosa Shire is leading the way in biosphere reserve management and sustainability. This is exactly why we felt it was time our region had an awards program that recognised those individuals and businesses making a real difference,” said Mr Halverson

An independent panel of eight judges included inaugural Noosa Biosphere Ltd Chair, Michael Donovan; former Zero Emissions Noosa President, Vivien Griffin; Noosa & District Landcare’s Phil Moran, former NBRF Director, Judy Castledine; and Noosa Shire Councillors Brian Stockwell, Amelia Lorentson, Karen Finzel, and Tom Wegener.

Entrants are competing for the title of one of four category awards – Land, Water, Wildlife, and People & Economy. The 2021 Noosa Biosphere Awards finalists are as follows:

Land Category Finalists
Sponsored by University of the Sunshine Coast

  • PermEco Inc.
  • Dangerbridge Nature Reserve
  • Noosa & District Landcare – Keeping it in Kin Kin project

Water Category Finalists
Sponsored by Tourism Noosa

  • Land & Sea Brewery (Can for a Cause)
  • Noosa Integrated Catchment Association
  • Noosa World Surfing Reserve.

Wildlife Category Finalists
Sponsored by International Fund for Animal Welfare

  • Meghan Halverson
  • Rachel Lyons
  • Dr Romane Cristescu

People & Economy Category Finalists
Sponsored by Noosa Council Economic Development

  • EarthTech
  • Noosa Environmental Education Hub
  • Plastic Free Noosa

“Congratulations to all of our finalists and each of the entrants. Our community is very fortunate to have so many environmental champions among us, each of whom contribute greatly to the health, prosperity and sustainability of Noosa. The Judging Panel also made special reference to two emerging young Noosa Biosphere warriors acknowledging the entries from Spencer Hitchen and Jarrah Small,” said Mr Halverson.

Winners of the 2021 Noosa Biosphere Awards will be announced at the Wild Koala Gala on Tuesday, 2 November.