Noosa Biosphere Reserve - A celebration of community and environment.

Winners announced for Noosa Biosphere Awards 2023

Winners announced for Noosa Biosphere Awards 2023

The Noosa Biosphere Reserve Foundation hosted its annual Noosa Biosphere Awards on Thursday 30 November at the Sunshine Beach Surf Life Saving Club, with 140 guests from the local environment and sustainability sector turning out for the event.

Chair of the Noosa Biosphere Reserve Foundation, Fiona Berkin, remarked it was another fantastic celebration.

“This event is always a great celebration of community and environment. Thank you to all who participated in this year’s Noosa Biosphere Awards, including our judges, partners, entrants and guests, and congratulations to the deserving winners and finalists.

“Special thanks to our category award sponsors, event sponsor Maravista Farm, and in-kind supporters. Without them we wouldn’t be able to put together such a wonderful event to appreciate and recognise those leading the way in conservation and building a sustainable future for our beautiful Noosa region and community,” she said.

The Awards recognise individuals and businesses who demonstrate environment and sustainability excellence in the Noosa Shire, in alignment with the UNESCO Man and the Biosphere Programme (MAB).

Noosa was designated a biosphere reserve in 2007 and joins the World Network of Biosphere Reserves, alongside 737 other biosphere reserves in 134 countries.

Professor Peter Bridgewater, Former Secretary of the UNESCO MAB Programme, delivered the keynote address, sharing inspiration and insights on what makes Noosa special and what we can learn from biosphere reserves around the world.

Now in its third year, the Noosa Biosphere Awards are a testament to the individuals who are leading conservation efforts in the Noosa region, with the Awards program aiming to spread awareness to the Noosa Shire community on what a biosphere reserve is and how we can all do our bit to enhance and protect it.

Noosa Biosphere Reserve Foundation is proud to recognise the Noosa Biosphere Award 2023 Category Winners:

  • Land category, sponsored by International Fund for Animal Welfare (IFAW):
    Urban Wildlife Gardens (by Noosa Integrated Catchment Association).
  • Water category, sponsored by UniSC:
    Alison Foley (Ten Little Pieces).
  • Wildlife category, sponsored by Land & Sea Brewery:
    UniSC Detection Dogs for Conservation.
  • Young Eco-Leader category, sponsored by Tewantin-Noosa Lions Club:
    Taylor Ladd-Hudson.
  • People & Economy (Individual/Not-for-profit) category, sponsored by Community Bank Tewantin-Noosa:
    Zero Emissions Noosa (for their Community Battery/EV Expo initiative).
  • People & Economy (Business) category, sponsored by Tourism Noosa:
    Eco Cottages.

Entries were judged by an independent panel from across the local community, including Rex Halverson, Peter Hunnam, Judy Castledine, Benjamin Derrick, Noosa Councillors Amelia Lorentson and Karen Finzel, and Noosa Biosphere Awards 2022 Young Eco-Leader Winner, Jarrah Small.