Noosa Biosphere Reserve - A celebration of community and environment.

Noosa Biosphere Reserve Foundation appoints new Board of Directors at Annual General Meeting

Noosa Biosphere Reserve Foundation appoints new Board of Directors at Annual General Meeting

2019 AGM (L-R): Diana Lane, Cr Frank Wilkie, outgoing Chair Dick Barnes, incoming Chair Rex Halverson, outgoing Deputy Chair Clare Cartwright, Dr David Dique, incoming Deputy Chair Greg Schumann.

The Noosa Biosphere Reserve Foundation (NBRF) held its Annual General Meeting at Doonella House on Friday 8 November, appointing Rex Halverson as Chair of the Board.

A Noosa local and active environmental campaigner for reforestation and koala populations, Mr Halverson will lead the Board of Directors towards a renewed vision for the NBRF, working with partners to develop big ideas.

After three years of service with the NBRF, and prior years with the Noosa Community Biosphere Association, outgoing Chair Dick Barnes moves on to pursue agricultural interests in the Noosa Hinterland and will remain an Advisor to the Board.

“I would like to thank Dick for his contribution to the Noosa Biosphere Reserve Foundation and his leadership of the Board during his term as Chair,” said Mr Halverson.

“During this time, he and the Directors have led a number of successful projects with a great return on investment. Their work has put us in a good position to continue progressing our mission to enable science-based projects for the sustainability of the Noosa Biosphere Reserve’s future.”

Outgoing Directors include Deputy Chair Clare Cartwright and Professor Karen Hussey from University of Queensland.

Several new Directors were officially appointed to the Board following a public recruitment campaign. Those appointed include Prof. Rod Smith a professor of natural resource engineering with an interest in climate change, Jady Smith who brings extensive experience in environmental management including international programs in other biosphere reserves, and Duncan Thompson a manager within the University of the Sunshine Coast Office of the Vice-Chancellor and President.

Continuing Board members include Deanna Lane, Dr David Dique, Greg Schumann as Deputy Chair and Cr Frank Wilkie as Noosa Council’s representative.

All volunteers, the Directors work with project partners and stakeholders and help facilitate programs aligned with the aims of the UNESCO Man and the Biosphere Program.

Mr Halverson says the new Board is excited to continue identifying and supporting big ideas.

“With our renewed 10-year Biosphere Reserve status approved and a new strategic focus well in play, we’re already working on some exciting initiatives that will see long-term benefits for our environment, iconic species and community,” he said.

“We’re all extremely focused and energised for the next term ahead.”