Noosa Biosphere Reserve - A celebration of community and environment.

Three directors appointed to Noosa Biosphere Reserve Foundation board

Three directors appointed to Noosa Biosphere Reserve Foundation board

Three new directors have been appointed to the Noosa Biosphere Reserve Foundation board after a public call to fill the positions.

The appointments were made at the annual general meeting held Friday 5 October and complete the total of eight board positions.

Chair, Dick Barnes says the new directors will complement its expertise-based board.

“We had exceptional applications from three candidates with experience exactly in line with our advertised needs of governance, fund raising, and communication alongside an interest in our biosphere reserve,” said Mr Barnes.

Deanna Lane, Greg Schumann and Rex Halverson each have a personal connection to Noosa and an interest in preserving its specialness.

Rex Halverson is a Noosa local and has been involved in koala conservation for the past several years.

“I’ve lived and worked all over the world and know how special what we have here in the Noosa area is,” said Mr Halverson.

“I’ve seen first-hand how an imbalance between development and conservation can rob an area of precisely the reasons people would want to live or work there. I wanted to be a part of sustaining the good work done in the past by collaboratively working on the best way forward.

“If we continue to get this right we can be an example for other communities around Australia and beyond to emulate on how to achieve a healthy and sustainable environment and economy,” he said.

The appointments come after a new three-year funding agreement was approved by Noosa Council in July.

“Our focus is to now determine the big ideas that achieve the principles of the UNESCO Man and the Biosphere Program for Noosa and find the funds to implement them,” said Mr Barnes.

“Directors collectively guide the direction of the Foundation and liaise with project managers. So it makes sense to get to our maximum of eight directors as soon as we can, to progress new activity,” he said.

The volunteer positions were publicised in local media and through the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

The existing five directors, Dick Barnes, Clare Cartwright, Dr David Dique, Dr Karen Hussey and Cr Frank Wilkie (as the Council representative) continue to hold their positions.


Tags: board, directors, NBRF